City of Brooksville

Events Calendar

April 2015
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 1 2

Upcoming Events

H.C. Preservation Society Meeting
Apr 2 6:30 PM
Meeting to be held at JBCC.

Good Friday Holiday
Apr 3 12:00 AM 12:00 AM
All Day Event
City offices will be closed.

Brooksville Cycling Classic
Apr 4 7:00 AM 7:00 PM
The City of Brooksville is proud to host the Get Healthy Brooksville Cycling Classic as the Florida State Criterium Championship for 2015.

Brooksville City Nights
Apr 4 4:00 PM 8:00 PM
Brooksville City Nights is an Evening Market on Main Street.

Council Meeting
Apr 6 7:00 PM

Screening Committee Meeting
Apr 7 4:00 PM 5:30 PM

Florida Blueberry Festival
Apr 11 8:00 AM 5:00 PM

Planning and Zoning Commission Print

The Planning & Zoning Commission consists of five (5) voting members and two (2) alternate members who must be City residents. The alternate members would vote in the absence of a full-time member. This commission serves as a quasi-judicial decision-making public body to approve final decisions on certain petitions for special exceptions or interpretations, and serve in an advisory capacity to make recommendations to City Council on zoning/re-zoning petitions, annexation petitions, comprehensive plan amendments, preliminary/final plats, and vacation of right of way petitions and other land use and zoning issues and decisions within the City of Brooksville as prescribed by City Code or Florida Statutes. Pursuant to Ordinance #562 adopted May 20, 1996, City Council may choose to hear appeals of any Planning and Zoning Commission decisions.  The terms of office are four (4) years and members must be City residents. The terms shall all expire in December of their respective term, as amended by Policy No. 4-2008 adopted by City Council 10/6/2008.

The following is a list of members of the Planning & Zoning Commission and their terms of office:

John A. Wanat, reappointed December 15, 2014 to a 4-year term which expires December 31, 2018.

Elmer D. Korbus,  reappointed December 31, 2011 to a 4-year term which expires December 31, 2015.

George H. Rodriguez, reappointed February 7, 2011 to a 4-year term which epires December 31, 2015.

Anthony D. Pedonesi, CHAIRMAN, reappointed December 16, 2013 to a 4-year term which epires December 31, 2017.

Ronald H. Lawson, VICE-CHAIR, reappointed December 16, 2013 to a 4-year term which expires December 31, 2017.

Louise O. Taylor, Alternate, reappointed December 17, 2013 to a 4-year term which expires December 31, 2017.

David Donato, Alternate, appointed December 17, 2012 to a 4-year term which December 31,2016.

Ex-Officio & Support Staff:

Thomas S. Hogan, Jr., Esq., City Attorney, P.O. Box 485, Brooksville, FL 34605; (352) 799-8423

Bill Geiger, Community Development Director/City Liaison (Non-Voting) to the Board; (352) 540-3810

Jennifer Battista, Secretary to the Board; (352) 540-3810

J. Lisle Bozeman, Non-voting School Board Representative, Planning & Growth Management Coordinator, Hernando County School Board, 8050 Mobley Rd., (352) 797-7096

*Duties modified by Ordinance #562-A adopted March 3, 1997, consolidating duties of Planning and Zoning Board and Zoning Adjustment and Appeals Board, as well as being renamed to “Commission”.